TE advert. Click for website

UK determines certification standards for new electric vertical take-off and landing aircraft

The UK Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) has confirmed it will put in place the certification standards also used by the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA), known as Special Conditions (SC)-VTOL, as the basis for UK certification for new electric vertical take-off and landing (eVTOL) aircraft.

In a news posting the CAA says “Special Conditions allow manufacturers and the CAA to develop safety requirements as these new technologies come to market and provide the basis for approval.  The safety levels established under SC.VTOL provide stringent levels of protection for the UK consumer, both in the air and on the ground.”

In implementing these new standards, the CAA says it will continue to proactively engage and collaborate with other global national aviation authorities, such as the US Federal Aviation Administration, to share approaches, lessons learned and safety insights.

Furthermore the CAA says “Harmonising safety standards across nations and continents helps to maintain high levels of safety, as well as reducing industry costs and avoiding duplication of effort. By working together the UK industry has easier access to the wider global market.”

For more information


(Image: UK CAA)

Share this:
supernal advert. Click for website